Newsletter Archive September 11th, 2013

I’ve got a thing for pay phones, you know, like phone booths.  I like the way they look, I like the way they work, or more often don’t.  And different phones have different personalities.  This one is a big city pay phone, shoulder to shoulder with fifteen identical units who are all aiming for the same job in a fast-paced world “pick me, pick me!”  Meanwhile, that one stands alone, out on a lonely desert highway, a sentinel in the night, holding unto itself the many mysteries of the threshold where civilization ends and wilderness begins.
I’ve also taken notice of the pay phone’s slow, almost imperceptible disappearance from reality.  As the mobile phone reaches ubiquity, pay phones are no longer useful.  So, one by one, they are all just going away, poof.  Now, there’s this part of me that wants to turn this into a rant about technology, about how the internet is an over-glorified post office, library, and mail order catalog, about how those who are benefitting the most from new technology are the people and institutions who are hungry enough for power and money and control to convince the public that the promise of the future is still being made good by way of the newest consumer gadget, but no, that isn’t what this is about.
This is about the pay phone.  It’s going away, and it won’t be coming back.  And in my heart I want to do something to say to the pay phone “I adore you, I adore your filth, and your weird burn marks, and your gritty sound, and your smell of Carmex, and your pale blue fluorescent light cast gently on this one-way road to nowhere, and I want to celebrate you before you are gone.  I want to run madly through a downpour of rain into your glass and metal enclosure and dial your number and leave a message on your machine, and express to you in my own confused, uninformed, and overly sentimental way that I love you, and I’ll miss you, and I won’t ever forget you.”

 

It would be a pleasure to see you at any of these upcoming events:

This Friday Sept. 13th at 7PM:  Sad Vicious Slays Will Brown in SF, CA

This Saturday Sept. 14th at 7PM: ‘Sad Vicious Live’ taping in conjunction with Burger Records and Cynic Cave at Lost Weekend Video in SF, CA

Friday Sept. 27th at 7PM: Sad Vicious plays Hubris! At Lost Weekend Video in SF, CA

Wednesday Oct. 2nd at 9PM: Sad Vicious plays Life Changing Ministries in Oakland, CA

Thanks for reading and kindest regards,

-Scott Vermeire

Standard

Leave a Reply

